Juma named cubs captain as five KCCA teenagers make final squad | AFCON U17 Qualifiers

Five teenagers from KCCA FC Soccer Academy have been named on the final 20 man squad to Rwanda for CECAFA U17 tournament that also doubles as the AFCON U17 Qualifiers.

The five are defenders; Ibrahim Juma who is also the Uganda Cubs captain and Simon Mukisa a youngster who joined KCCA FC Soccer Academy in 2019.

Mwanje Elvis in a training session with the KCCA FC senior team ahead of the Uganda Cup game against Doves FC in Masindi in March 2020

Midfielder Mwanje Elvis Eddy has also made the final squad. The budding talent joined KCCA FC Soccer Academy in 2019 and made his senior debut for KCCA FC senior team last season against Doves FC in Masindi, a game he was introduced as a substitute.

The Forwards are Shafiq Magogo and Mawa Oscar last season’s top scorer of the dissolved FUFA Juniors League with 16 goals.

Simon Mukisa (3) in a training session with KCCA FC senior team ahead of the Uganda Cup game against Doves FC in Masindi in March 2020

Two players have already made their senior club debuts in Ibrahim Juma and Mwanje Elvis Eddy while Mukisa Simon traveled with KCCA FC team to Masindi for the game against Doves FC but did not feature.

Shafiq Magogo and Mawa Oscar are yet to play a game for the KCCA FC senior team.

Teenager Ibrahim Juma is the most experienced player in the squad having featured in the CECAFA U17 in Burundi – 2018, AFCON U17 Qualifiers in Tanzania – 2018 and AFCON U17 in Tanzania in 2019

The CECAFA U17 tournament is slated to commence on Saturday 12th to 22nd December 2020 in Rwanda.

Uganda is the reigning U17 CECAFA champion and will be looking at defending it in order to qualify for the African Cup of Nations U17 Finals that will be staged in Morocco next year.

Juma Ibrahim against Doves FC vs KCCA FC in Uganda Cup

Full Contingent traveling Rwanda

  1. Mwebe Henry Goalkeeper – (Express Fc Junior Team)
  2. Magada Abdu – Goalkeeper (Busoga United Junior Team)
  3. Oyirwoth Humphrey- Goalkeeper (Express Fc Junior Team)
  4. Mulema Vincent Defender (Kyetume Fc Junior Team)
  5. Ibrahim Juma – Defender (KCCA SA)
  6. Luyima Enock – Defender (Volf SA)
  7. Mukisa Simon – Defender (KCCA SA)
  8. Gava Peter – Defender (Express FC Junior Team)
  9. Madoi Ronald – Defender (Wakiso Giants Junior Team)
  10. Irinimbabazi Ivan – Midfielder (Bright Stars FC, Junior Team)
  11. Kaliisa Shugai – Midfielder (Express FC Junior Team)
  12. Mutyaba Travis – Midfielder (Vipers Sc Junior Team)
  13. Mwanje Elvis Eddy – Midfielder – (KCCA SA)
  14. Mudiba Samir – Midfielder – Express Fc Junior Team
  15. Magogo Shafiq – Foward (KCCA SA)
  16. Mubiru Hassan – Forward (Express Fc Junior Team)
  17. Mawa Oscar – Forward (KCCA SA)
  18. Bugembe Issa – Foward (Bright Stars Junior Team)
  19. Jumbe Fahad – Forward (SC Vipers Junior Team)
  20. Basil Tenywa Tuma – Forward (Eton College, United Kingdom


Magoola Issa-Leader of Delegation

Lutalo Hamzah – Head Coach

Ssenyondo Brian – Assistant Coach

Kiberu Mubarak – Goalkeeping Coach

Kyesimira Arthur – Fitness Coach

Kabatalindwa Mable – Team Doctor

Mutyaba Bashir – Team Manager

Bumpenje Frank – Kits Manager

Mutaka Joseph – Media Officer

Mulekeezi Reagan – 1021.1 FUFA fm (Commentary)