Morley Byekwaso named best coach of AFCON U20 tournament

The Uganda Hippos might have lost the AFCON U20 Final at their maiden appearance in the competition but their Gaffer Morley Byekwaso will have all reasons to be proud of himself and his troops.

Byekwaso who is the assistant manager at KCCA FC alongside other two members of the team won individual awards at the tournament.

The Hippos lost 2-0 to Ghana who are now four-time champions of the competition.

Joseph Kafumbe

The Hippos won silver medals and a fair play award, there were individual recognitions for head coach Morley Byekwaso who was named the best coach of the tournament.

Byekwaso guided the Hippos to three wins against Mozambique and host Mauritania in the group stages and Tunisia in the semi-finals.

The Hippos also won against Burkina Faso in the post match penalty kicks after a draw in normal time against Burkina Faso in the quarter-finals.

The U20 side lost against Cameroon in the group stages before falling to Ghana in the final.

Other individual awards were to Striker Derrick Kakooza who won the Golden boot for scoring 5 goals.

Musa Ramathan played all the six games at AFCON U20

Not only Byekwaso received recognition, also Kakooza and defender Aziz Kayondo were both named in the Best XI.

Six KCCA FC players were part of the Hippos squad in Mauritania for AFCON U20.

Musa Ramathan was the only KCCA FC player that featured in all the six games at the AFCON U20 tournament.

Sserwadda Steven and Ssenyonjo Samuel were the others that played many games in Mauritania. Kizza Bukenya was used as a substitute in all the games he featured in.

Midfielders Kawooya Andrew and Kafumbe Joseph did not kick a ball at the tournament.

Steven Sserwadda (C)

AFCON U20 BEST XI: Danlad Ibrahim (GK) (Ghana), Flory Yangao (Central African Republic), Blondon Meyapya (Cameroon), Jawra Lamin (Gambia), Aziz Kayondo (Uganda), El Mehdi El Moubarik (Morocco), Lamarana Jallow (Gambia), Chibeb Labidi (Tunisia), Abdul Fatawu (Ghana), Kakooza Derrick (Uganda), Joffrey Bazie (Burkina Faso)